Jul 16th, 2010
by Christopher.
This legalese nonsense was received via a generic dropbox earlier today. Classic single paragraph stuff.
PRIVATE AND CONFIDENTIAL:
The information in this e-mail (which includes any files transmitted with it) is confidential to All Branded CD & DVD Limited. It is intended for the addressee only. Access to this e-mail by anyone else is unauthorized. It is not to be relied upon by any person other than the addressee except with our prior written approval. If no such approval is given, we will not accept any liability (in negligence or otherwise) arising from any third party acting, or refraining from acting, on such information. Unauthorized recipients are required to maintain confidentiality. If you have received this e-mail in error please notify us immediately, destroy any copies and delete it from your computer system. Any use, dissemination, forwarding, printing or copying of this e-mail is prohibited. Copyright in this e-mail and any document created by us and sent as an attachment to this e-mail will be and remain vested in us and will not be transferred to you. We assert the right to be identified as the author of and to object to any misuse of the contents of this e-mail or such documents. Whilst we run anti-virus software on all internet e-mails we are not liable for any loss or damage. The recipient is advised to run their own anti-virus software. Nothing in this e-mail or any attachment shall be an acceptance of any offer previously made nor shall be itself an offer capable of acceptance to form a legally binding contract.
Posted in: Corporate Nonsense, Stupid Email Disclaimers.
Tagged: disclaimers · legalese · pointless · sed · stupid · Stupid Email Disclaimers
Jun 9th, 2010
by Christopher.
So long, but at least it ends politely...
ITV Broadcasting Limited (Registration No. 955957) (“ITV”) is incorporated in England and Wales with its registered office at The London Television Centre, Upper Ground, London SE1 9LT. Please visit the official ITV website at www.itv.com for the latest company news.
The contents of this email and any attachments are confidential, may be privileged, may be subject to copyright and are intended solely for the use of the individual to whom they are addressed. If you have received this email and you are not the intended recipient please notify postmaster@itv.com and delete this email and you are notified that disclosing, copying, distributing or taking any action in reliance on the contents of this email are strictly prohibited.
Although ITV routinely screens for viruses, recipients should scan this email and any attachments for viruses. ITV makes no representation or warranty that this email or any of its attachments is free of viruses or defects and does not accept any responsibility for any damage caused by any virus or defect transmitted by this email. ITV reserves the right to monitor all e mails and the systems upon which such e mails are stored or circulated.Any views or opinions presented in this email are solely those of the author and do not necessarily represent those of ITV.
Thank You.
Posted in: Corporate Nonsense, Oddities, Stupid Email Disclaimers.
Tagged: disclaimers · legalese · pointless · sed · stupid · Stupid Email Disclaimers
Apr 15th, 2010
by Christopher.
A couple of years ago, Jeff Ventura blogged about a fairly cunning domain name scam originating from China, whereby owners of domain names would be contacted by a 'registrar' indicating that another company was trying to register domain names with Asian TLDs that matched their existing domain name. This died down for a while, but it's back again (and it doesn't seem to have changed at all). I received one of these emails myself last week for a company I work for; read more for all the gory details (including copypasta of the email conversation I had with "Lebron Zhu"). Sinohosting also reported on this when it first began to occur.
[Update, July 20: They're still at it, this time with a new name and company: James Hong, "Senior Consultant of domain name registration and solution center in china" and "one company which self-styled "Packs Co.,ltd" were applying to register [company name] as Network Brand
and following domain names".
If it walks like a duck, talks like a duck... [update ends]
From Jeff's blog entry;
This is clever and it took a bit of time to figure out the pathology. But there is one, and it’s interesting. Continue reading →
Posted in: Spam scams phishing etc.
Tagged: be careful out there kids · china · domain · lebron zhu · name · prospecting · scam
Mar 29th, 2010
by Christopher.
This was in bold red type for added legal weight (I've inconsiderately removed said formatting).
NOTE: Information in this email is confidential and may be privileged. It is intended for the addressee only. If you have received it in error please notify the sender immediately and delete it from your system. You should not otherwise copy it, retransmit it, use or disclose its contents unless permission to do so is explicitly stated. Views expressed in personal emails do not necessarily reflect the position or opinion of the Liberal Democrats.
Posted in: Corporate Nonsense, Oddities, Stupid Email Disclaimers.
Mar 1st, 2010
by Christopher.
Great company, great products, absolutely amazing open days - useless legalese disclaimer. (Linebreaks added)
This e-mail and any attachment may contain confidential and/or
privileged information. If you have received this e-mail and/or
attachment in error, please notify the sender immediately and
delete the e-mail and any attachment from your system. If you
are not the intended recipient you must not copy, distribute,
disclose or use the contents of the e-mail or any attachment.
All e-mail sent to or from this address may be accessed by
someone other than the recipient for system management and
security reasons or for other lawful purposes.
Airbus Operations Limited does not accept liability for any
damage or loss which may be caused by software viruses.
Airbus Operations Limited is registered in England and Wales
under company number 3468788. The company's registered office
is at New Filton House, Filton, Bristol, BS99 7AR.
Posted in: Corporate Nonsense, Stupid Email Disclaimers.